Publications Green paper on ageing: Recognizing the role and contribution of Personal and Household Services for a more human-centered approach to long-term care

Share

Position papers
Green paper on ageing: Recognizing the role and contribution of Personal and Household Services for a more human-centered approach to long-term care

The health crisis has underlined the need to develop a more human-centred approach to long-term care, too often considered through an economic prism. The virus has threatened older people’s rights, increased their social isolation and limited their access to health and social services. Whilst the share of people aged 65 or over is expected to reach 30.3% of the EU population in 2070, compared to 20.3% in 2019, there is a need to define a long-term vision for efficient and resilient care systems that guarantee equal rights for the elderly.

Such a vision must take into account the importance of PHS in the European Union. This essential sector, which has been emphasized by the crisis, is too rarely recognised and supported by public authorities and suffers from the massive use of undeclared work. Considering the future Green Paper on Ageing, EFFE calls on the European Commission to :

– As part of the Green Paper on Ageing, commit to the recognition and development of the PHS sector, including the direct employment model, in order to implement the 18th principle of the European Pillar of Social Rights (EPSR), stating that everyone has the right to affordable and accessible long-term care services of good quality, in particular home-care and community-based services.

– Engage with the PHS sector and all other relevant stakeholders to develop an ambitious Care Plan to ensure that European citizens have access to high-quality and affordable care models.

Latest publications

Publications Livre vert sur le vieillissement : reconnaître le rôle et la contribution des PHS pour une approche plus humaine des soins de longue durée, Décembre 2020

Partager

Prises de position
Livre vert sur le vieillissement : reconnaître le rôle et la contribution des PHS pour une approche plus humaine des soins de longue durée, Décembre 2020

La crise sanitaire a souligné la nécessité de développer une approche plus humaine des soins de longue durée, trop souvent abordés par un prisme économique. Elle a notamment menacé les droits des personnes âgées, accru leur isolement social et limité leur accès aux services sociaux et de santé. Et alors que la part des personnes âgées de 65 ans ou plus devrait représenter 30,3 % de la population de l’UE en 2070, contre 20,3 % en 2019, est nécessaire de définir une vision à long terme pour des systèmes de soins performants et résistants qui garantissent l’égalité des droits aux personnes âgées.

Une telle vision doit tenir compte de l’importance des PHS au sein de l’Union européenne. Mis en avant par la crise, ce secteur essentiel trop rarement reconnu et soutenu par les pouvoirs publics souffre du recours massif au travail non déclaré. Dans les cadres des travaux concernant le futur Livre vert sur le vieillissement, EFFE appelle donc la Commission européenne à :

– favoriser la reconnaissance et le développement de secteur des PHS, et notamment le modèle d’emploi direct, afin de mettre en œuvre le 18e principe du Socle européen des droits sociaux (SEDS), selon lequel toute personne a droit à des services de soins de longue durée abordables et accessibles, de bonne qualité, en particulier les soins à domicile et les services de proximité.

– s’engager avec le secteur des PHS et toutes les autres parties prenantes concernées pour élaborer Care deal ambitieux afin de garantir que les citoyens européens aient accès à des modèles de soins de qualité et abordables.

Dernières publications